The Evolution Forum

Go Back   The Evolution Forum > Bodybuilding > Watch Me Grow
Welcome, Anonymous.
You last visited: Today at 04:56 AM

Notices

Watch Me Grow Discuss your own personal muscle goals and document your bodybuilding progress, including gains in size and strength and also get encouragement from others.

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Add to sl97aq's Reputation   Report Post  
Old November 17th, 2003, 06:22 PM

sl97aq
Beginner

I am 5 foot 5 and 110 pounds. I want to get bigger and more muscular. How do I begin, since I have never worked out with weights before?
  #2   Report Post  
Old November 17th, 2003, 08:08 PM
LeatherGryphon

Hello sl97aq,

Of course it all depends on your resources and will. (not desire, will!)

How old are you? How much can you spend per month reliably? How much time do you have? How much control do you have over where you go, what you do, and what you eat? All questions to consider in your planning.

Getting healthy and athletic is a hobby, getting "big" is a lifestyle.

You asked how to begin.

First step is to find somebody you trust to ask questions of and give reliable safe advice. There are I'm sure many reading this right now. Another thing to consider is what do you do about conflicting advice? Answer: Do your own research! Read books about beginning bodybuilding. Learn to keep records of what exercises you do, what you eat, how you feel. If you really want to get big you need to know what makes you big and be willing to do the things that make you big. That includes learning, about biomechanics, nutrition, and more.

The most available bodybuilding tool is your body. Don't neglect the benefit of isometrics, calesthenics or running. The cheapest bodybuilding tools are things like springs, and rubber stuff you stretch or squeeze. The simplest and most versitile iron is a pair of dumbells. (You'll eventually need access to several pair).