You last visited: Today at 04:56 AM

Notices

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Add to The Magus's Reputation   Report Post  
Old June 20th, 2004, 05:24 AM

The Magus is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to The Magus
Apostrophes

I know this shouldn't bother me as much as it does, but I'm an editor (in training) and I've noticed a trend in how people (not just on this site) are using apostrophes and I wanted to point it out....

"Wanna" and "gonna" don't have apostrophes in them when spelled correctly. They're fine just the way they are. The poor apostrophe gets mis-/overused as it is, and needs a break.

Thanks all.

(Of course, if anyone can direct me to a source that shows that apostrophes are supposed to be used in "wanna" and "gonna", I'll gladly accept that reasoning if it fits with what I know about the rest of grammar.)
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Thanks
  #2   Add to brent's Reputation   Report Post  
Old June 20th, 2004, 11:08 AM

brent has disabled reputation
Send a message via AIM to brent Send a message via Yahoo to brent
Good point

I'm sure I overuse apostrophes worse than anyone else here. Thank you for pointing that out. I only have a few terms of junior college writing classes, and many others here may well have even less. I invite every opportunity to improve myself, and welcome comments about anything new that I can learn from. However, I don't want newer members to feel that they need a masters in grammar to post here. Also, remember that we Americans have our own, "Special" spelling of words (like we spell cheque as check, and colour as color).

We also get to ride on the special bus too!
  #3   Add to RadRx's Reputation   Report Post  
Old June 20th, 2004, 12:33 PM

RadRx has disabled reputation
Send a message via Yahoo to RadRx
Dear Magus: