The Evolution Forum

Go Back   The Evolution Forum > Bodybuilding > Training
Welcome, Anonymous.
You last visited: Today at 04:56 AM

Notices

Training Tips, Techniques, and Routines.

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1   Add to collegebud's Reputation   Report Post  
Old October 24th, 2013, 02:03 AM

collegebud is on a distinguished road
The Shape of Things to Come

This is a question from a total newbie to bodybuilding. So new, I'm practically a pre-newbie. More on that in another post, but just know my knowledge is very minimal, so hopefully this isn't glaringly obvious, common knowledge...

Adam (Adam400m) is one of a bodybuilding hero of mine. The one thing that both drives me crazy (as a gay man) and motivates me (as an aspiring bodybuilder) is the shape of his muscle, unlike anything I've seen before.

I know the shape is muscle is partially genetic, but is there any information on types/methods for controlling the size of muscle? For example: pecs that curve upward like a pair of bowls vs. pecs that are broad, square and flat like a large opened coffee table book.

Hoping to get some insight into this... thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message Thanks
  #2   Add to LeatherGryphon's Reputation   Report Post  
Old October 24th, 2013, 04:53 AM

LeatherGryphon is on a distinguished road
The look of "pecs" is actually generated by several muscles in that area. Primarily the pecs are divided into upper and lower which should both be worked deeply. They generally work together but use certain exercises to concentrate the load on the upper pecs and other exercises for the lower pecs. When done right you'll start to see that dividing line across the middle. Great for showing off rippling chest!

However, underneath the pecs are also smaller muscles that control the rib cage and can add volume to the chest when grown.